Safety Awards

The annual CMHA Safety Awards Program recognizes safety-conscious Producer, Associate and Contractor members, as evidenced by exemplary safety records. The awards are based on the 2022 calendar year. CMHA members must be in good standing with CMHA to participate.

Production and manufacturing facilities of Producer or Associate Members of CMHA can participate by using the information reported on their OSHA 300A logs or equivalent Canadian injury reports.

Contractor Members of CMHA can participate by submitting the information submitted on their OSHA 300A log or equivalent Canadian injury report. If your company does not usually submit the information, you can still collect the data and submit it to CMHA following the same format. Learn how to fill out an OSHA 300A log.

Award Deadline:

Deadline to submit your entry is March 31, 2023. Click this link to access the entry form. Do not forget to select if you are a manufacturer or a contractor when submitting. Learn more about the process here.

Entry to participate is free, with fees only assessed if a winner wishes to receive an award plaque, which can be ordered through CMHA. Submitted figures must represent all employees at each facility or location for which a separate OSHA log/Canadian injury report is kept. Manufactures and contractors may submit multiple facilities per entry form under the same company.

CMHA reserves the right to request supplementary information like OSHA 300A logs, Canadian Equivalent or your Workers Comp Mod rate

Contact James Tredinnick at CMHA with any questions.


Milestone Award

Facilities with more than five consecutive years of Safety Award Program entries with zero OSHA/Canadian injury report injuries. (Producers/Associates only)

Platinum Safety Award

Highest level of safety achievement in a single year is given to member facilities/locations with an Incidence Rate (IR)of zero.

Gold Award

Given to member facilities/locations with a Days Away, Restrictions, and Transfer Rate (DART) no greater than one and an IR no greater than two. Facilities/locations with a death during the reporting period are not eligible.

Silver Award

Given to member facilitieslocations with a DART greater than one but not greater than two and an IR no greater than three. Facilities/locations with a death during the reporting period are not eligible.